Handel, George Frideric; Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo


Edited from the sources and realization of the figured bass by Bernhard Moosbauer. Notes on ornamentation by Reinhard Goebel

SKU: UT50264 Category:


Georg Friedrich Handel’s Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo belong to the core repertoire of Baroque violin music, some of them even being among the most famous repertoire pieces of their time. The new edition in the Wiener Urtext Edition series is based on Handel’s autographs, contemporary copies and first prints. In addition to Handel’s nine violin sonatas, it contains two minuets for violin and basso continuo which have been handed down in the environment of the sonatas. Apart from the solo violin part and a continuo score with a realised, easily playable basso continuo, the edition also includes a figured bass part which gives experienced continuo players the opportunity to improvise on the basso continuo part. The notes on interpretation by the renowned Baroque expert Reinhard Goebel provide insight into a sonata performance that was common practice at the time of Handel.

Additional information

Weight 620 g

Wiener Urtext Edition

Primary composer/editor/arranger

George Frideric, Handel

Published date





violin and piano