Matthews, David : Symphony No. 4


For chamber orchestra.

First performed in 1991 by the English Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Mark Wigglesworth, this 25 minute work was commissioned by the English Chamber Orchestra with funds from the Arts Council of Great Britain.

“. . . has an unselfconscious robustness of rhythm that sets up many associations – Nielsen via Simpson, Stravinsky via Tippett, Janácek, even John Adams.”
Arnold Whittall, The Gramophone, August 1994

SKU: 9780571516025 Category:

Additional information


Faber Music



Primary composer/editor/arranger

David, Matthews

Published date