We are currently unable to take online orders as the prices of many items listed have been increased by the publishers. If you would like to confirm prices or place an order please call 0117 9230164 or email shop@opus13.co.uk Thank you.

Matthews, David : Piano Sonata Op. 47


Piano Sonata Op. 47 (Piano Solo) David Matthews

The Sonata is in three movements, sonata allegro, slow movement, and scherzo plus coda and lasts about 15 minutes either as three consecutive movements or as a piece in fifteen sections each lasting roughly a minute.It was composed for and dedicated to William Howard and first performed at the Deal Festival in 1989. 

David Matthews writes:

“….I had the sound of Schubert sonatas in mind while I was writing the piece; ……I was aiming at the clarity and relative spareness of Schubert’s textures. There is a lot of two part writing, and sometimes a big space between the treble and the bass. There are also a great number of rests: the dramatic use of silence is an important feature, especially in the first movement……”

SKU: 9780571514717 Category:

Additional information


Faber Music



Primary composer/editor/arranger

David, Matthews

Published date