Jones, Richard: Core Classics, Grades 6-7


Core Classics is a collection of seven books of music from the piano canon, selected and graded by leading educationalists. Each volume contains a rich selection of engaging pieces to form the backbone of any pianist’s repertoire. With pieces from Chopin, Mozart, Ravel, and many more, this book includes an abundance of much-loved music.

SKU: 9781786013101 Category:


Hoedown: No. 15 [Alan Haughton]; Poetic Tone-Picture (E minor), Op. 3 No. 1 [Edvard Grieg]; Prelude in B, Op. 2 No. 2 [Aleksandr Nikolayevich Skryabin]; Fantasia in D minor, K. 397/385g [Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart]; Nocturne No. 5 in Bb [John Field]; Sonata in B minor, Kp. 87, L. 33 [Domenico Scarlatti]; Avril: Perce-neige (April: Snowdrop): No. 4 from ‘Les Saisons’, Op. 37a [Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky]; Suite No. 3: 1st movement, Le Coucou (The Cuckoo) [Louis-Claude Daquin]; To Alexis: No. 59 from ‘Klavierschule’ [Johann Nepomuk Hummel]; Berceuse in Gb, Op. 13 No. 7 [Alexander Ilynsky]; Allegro in A, H. 338 [Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach]; Carousel [Sylvie Bodorova]; Romance sans Paroles, Op. 17 No. 3 [Gabriel Faure]; Les Rozeaux (The Reeds), from 13th Ordre, ‘Pieces de Clavecin’, Book 3 [Francois Couperin]; Ride by Night: No. 3 from ‘Hunter’s Moon’ [William Alwyn]; Allegro, First movement from Sonata in E flat, Op. 31 No. 3 [Ludwig van Beethoven]

Additional information

Weight 216 g

ABRSM Publishing

Primary composer/editor/arranger

Jones, Richard

Published date





ABRSM Exam Pieces


Essential repertoire for piano