Jones, Richard: Baroque Keyboard Pieces Book III


A collection of the keyboard music of the period 1600-1750, offering a fairly representative selection of the forms, styles and composers of that period. Provides both scholarly performing editions and sources of enlightenment on performance conventions. Edited by Dr Richard Jones, a leading Bach scholar.

SKU: 9781854724601 Category:


New Aire in Bb [Anon.]; Sonata No. 5 in Bb: 2nd movement, Gavotta [Thomas Arne]; Suite in A minor, BWV 818a: 5th movement, Menuet [Johann Sebastian Bach]; Jigg in B minor [John Barrett]; Aire in G minor [John Blow]; Gavot in Gamut (G minor) [John Blow]; Rigaudon and Trio in D [Carl Bohm / (no name)]; Courante in D minor [Jacques Champion de Chambonnieres]; Sarabande ‘Jeunes Zephirs’, from ‘Les Pieces de Clavessin’, Book 2 [Jacques Champion de Chambonnieres]; A Farewell [Jeremiah Clarke]; La Bourbonnoise: Gavotte, from 1st Ordre, ‘Pieces de Clavecin’, Book 1 [Francois Couperin]; Menuet de Poitou in A minor [Louis Couperin]; Saraband in C minor [William Croft]; Suite No. 1 in G: 12th movement, Menuet [Jean-Henri D’Anglebert]; La Flateuse: Rondeau, from ‘Pieces de Clavecin’, Book 3 [Jean-Francois Dandrieu]; Suite No. 3: 3rd movement, L’Amusante, Part 1 [Louis-Claude Daquin]; Suite No. 5 in F: 7th movement, Gigue [Charles Dieupart]; Bourree and Menuet in A minor, from ‘Musicalisches Blumen- Buschlein’ [Johann Caspar Ferdinand Fischer]; Corrente quarta in G minor [Giralomo Frescobaldi]; Corrente terza in F [Giralomo Frescobaldi]; Marche in G [Christoph Graupner]; Aria in A, from ‘Neuer Clavier Ubung’, Part 1 [Johann Kuhnau]; Gavotte in B minor, from ‘Neuer Clavier Ubung’, Part 2 [Johann Kuhnau]; Symphony in G minor [William Lawes]; Rant in D, from ‘Melothesia’ [Matthew Locke]; Minuet in A, from ‘6 Suits or Lessons for the harpsichord or spinnet’ [Jean Baptiste Loeillet]; Menuet in D minor, from ‘Pieces de Clavecin’, Book 1 [Louis Marchand]; Air in A, from ‘Pieces de Clavecin’ [Johann Mattheson]; Menuet in D, from ‘Componimenti Musicali per il cembalo’ [Georg Muffat]; Suite in G [Bernardo Pasquini]; Suite in C, Z. 665: 1st and 2nd movements, Prelude and Almond [Henry Purcell]; Suite No. 6 in D, Z. 667: 3rd movement, Hornpipe [Henry Purcell]; Menuet I in G and Menuet II in G minor, from ‘Nouvelles Suites de Pieces de Clavecin’ [Jean-Philippe Rameau]; Sonata in A, Kp. 453 [Domenico Scarlatti]; Menuet in G minor [Gottfried Heinrich Stolzel]; Gavotte en Rondeau in F, from ‘Der getreue Music-Meister’ [Georg Philipp Telemann]; Menuet-Trio in G minor, BWV 929, from ‘Clavierbuchlein for W. F. Bach’ [Johann Sebastian Bach]; Air in F, from the ‘Water Music’, HWV 464 [George Frideric Handel]; Minuet in G minor, from Suite No. 1 in Bb (1727 coll.), HWV 434 [George Frideric Handel]

Additional information

Weight 238 g

ABRSM Publishing

Primary composer/editor/arranger

Jones, Richard

Published date





Baroque Keyboard Pieces (ABRSM)