Jacques, Reginald; Willcocks, David: Carols for Choirs 1


50 Christmas carols Orchestrations for several of the carols from this collection are available on sale or hire under the titles Three Carol Orchestrations and Five Christmas Carols. Eight Carols for Brass for 5 and 8 part brass (to accompany carols from Carols for Choirs 1 and Carols for Choirs 2) are also on sale.

SKU: 9780193532229 Category:


Britten: A boy was born; Kodaly: A Christmas Carol; Kodaly: A great and mighty wonder; Warrell: A merry Christmas; Wood: A virgin most pure; Willcocks: Adeste fideles; Bach/Willcocks: And there were shepherds; Jacques: Angels, from the realms of glory; Kocher/Willcocks: As with gladness men of old; Kirkpatrick/Willcocks: Away in a manger; Jacques: Away in a manger; Willcocks: Blessed be that maid Mary; Vaughan Willams: The Blessed son of God; Poston: The Boar’s head carol; Tate: Carol, with lullaby; Anon: Coventry Carol; Shaw: Coventry Carol; Wood: Ding dong! merrily on high; Willcocks: The first nowell; Jacques: Gallery carol; Vaughan Williams: Gloucestershire wassail; Willcocks: God rest you merry, gentlemen; Jacques: Good King Wenceslas; Mendelssohn/Willcocks: Hark! the herald angels sing; Jacques: The holly and the ivy; Willcocks: I saw three ships; Jacques: I saw three ships; Pearsall/Jacques: In dulci jubilo; Willcocks: Infant holy, infant lowly; Sullivan: It came upon the midnight clear; Wood: King Jesus hath a garden; Jacques: The linden tree carol; Ballet/Shaw: Lute-book lullaby; Vaughan Williams: No sad thought his soul affright; Willcocks: O come, all ye faithful; Bach: O little one sweet; Vaughan Williams/Armstrong: O little town of Bethlehem; Cooke: O men from the fields; Gauntlett/Mann: Once in royal David’s city; Wood: Past three a clock; Jacques: Rejoice and be merry; Willcocks: Rocking; Goss/Willcocks: See amid the winter’s snow; Berlioz: The Shepherd’s farewell; Willcocks: Sussex Carol; Cornelius/Atkins: The three kings; Joubert: Torches; Willcocks: Unto us is born a son; Woodward: Up! good Christen folk, and listen; Vaughan Williams: We’ve been a while a-wandering; Walton: What cheer?; Jacques: When Christ was born; Ravenscroft: While shepherds watched their flocks; Armstrong Gibbs: While the shepherds were watching; Sargent: Zither Carol

Additional information

Weight 397 g

Oxford University Press

Primary composer/editor/arranger

David, Jacques, Reginald; Willcocks

Published date





. . . for Choirs Collections


SATB accompanied & unaccompanied