Britten, Benjamin : Phaedra


Full score of Phaedra, which was written as a vehicle for the remarkable talents of Dame Janet Baker. Modelled on the Italian Baroque cantatas of Handel, the series of arias for Vocal & Chorals and strings, and recitatives for Vocal & Choral with continuo result in a extraordinarily taut and economical work, both intense and emotionally charged. Containing enough drama to sustain a full-length opera, Phaedra is a microcosm of that form, a remarkable 16-minute scena, and Britten’s last masterpiece for his favoured medium, the Vocal & Choral.

SKU: 9780571510993 Category:

Additional information


Faber Music



Primary composer/editor/arranger

Benjamin, Britten

Published date



Mezzo Soprano, Orchestra