Britten, Benjamin : Death in Venice


Full Score (Eng/Ger)

Britten’s last opera, Death In Venice, is based on the short story by Thomas Mann. It follows the inner turmoil of the ageing novelist Gustav von Aschenbach, who becomes infatuated by a boy he sees on the beach in Venice. Unable to confess his love, he dies as the city is ravaged by plague. Full of atmosphere and intense soundscapes, the simple yet subtle motives pull the opera together with great sureness of touch.

SKU: 9780571539390 Category:

Additional information


Faber Music



Primary composer/editor/arranger

Benjamin, Britten

Published date



Vocal & Choral, Vocal Chorus, Orchestra