We are currently unable to take online orders as the prices of many items listed have been increased by the publishers. If you would like to confirm prices or place an order please call 0117 9230164 or email shop@opus13.co.uk Thank you.

Arnold, Malcolm : Recorder Concerto


This small-scale but remarkably inventive work is one of the key recorder concertos of the twentieth century. Following the composition of his sombre Ninth Symphony in the late 80s, Arnold had almost given up composition, but the playing of Danish recorder virtuoso Michala Petri inspired him to continue. The resulting 14-minute work – scored for solo recorder (descant and sopranino), pairs of oboes and horns and string orchestra – is light and witty, with numerous allusions to the sound world of Petri’s compatriot Carl Nielsen.

SKU: 9780571556335 Category:

Additional information


Faber Music



Primary composer/editor/arranger

Arnold, Malcolm

Published date



Recorder, Orchestra